Skinny Bitch – Bitches

Ok- I’m fat. Let’s just get that out right now. I’m not complaining – I’m not hiding – I’m not asking for sympathy nor am I complaining – I’m stating. I’m fat, I’m aware that I’m fat, I’m not happy that I am fat. I’m trying to change the fat fact. I would love to be a Skinny Bitch. Which is why, when I saw the book so cleverly titled “Skinny Bitch” by Rory Freedman & Kim Barnouin I thought “Why not! I’ll bite”. I have never been happier that I did not buy a book!!! EVER!!!

The cover of the book states, “A no-nonsense, tough-love guide for savvy girls who want to stop eating crap and start looking fabulous!” Sounds good so far right? Right. With catchy chapter titles such as, “Pooping”, “Don’t be a Pussy” and “Sugar is the Devil” I thought this would prove to be not only a good diet reference type book but a fun motivation tool. We all know that proper diet and exercise is the key to weight loss and control but some of us need more. Whether that more be self control, motivation, or just a swift kick in the ass depends on the person. I am an all three.

The first three chapters felt good. Honest material – a little preachy but what the heck. Catchy lines like “Soda is liquid Satan” work for some of us. Good carbs (complex) vs bad carbs (simple) and other simple, basic nutrition ideas that we sometimes forget.

Then my friends, I got to the chapter titled “The Dead, Rotting, Decomposing Flesh Diet”.  Foolish me though that maybe they were expounding the flaws and floundering of the all popular Atkins diet. Oh no no no no! This was nothing more than a soap box rant! A bait and switch to put the world’s best cross-dressers to shame! These Skinny Bitches are vegans. I have no problem with vegans, to each his own. I do however have a problem with someone putting out a “diet” book when in reality it is nothing more than a “shock” book intended to scare people into vegan-ism. These are not nice animal loving vegans – these are PETA card carrying Vega-Nazis.

One minute they are talking about carbs and sugar the next they are ranting and raving about the unfair and unethical treatment of chickens! I have no doubt that there are bad places out there that do bad things to animals but come on people! Go get a mirror. Got it? Open your mouth and look in the mirror. Do you see those sharp pointy teeth in front? Top and bottom? Do you see the strong teeth in back? If you run your tongue over your teeth are they dull and flat or sharpish and ridged? God (*please don’t try and start a religious debate if you don’t believe in him then insert evolution in your brain and move on) gave you those MEAT-eater’s teeth for a reason!

You my friend are what scientists like to call an omnivore – you need and are designed (see above *) to eat meat and plants. You will develop a deficiency, disease, weakness, or illness of some kind if you deprive your body of either of the aforementioned foods. Fact. Period. No questions or arguments about it.

If you want to be a vegan – have fun. Do not however insist on cramming your anti-meat eating crap down someone else’s throat and disguising it as what all women want. To look good and feel good about themselves.

So the book gets 1/2 a star and it only gets that because I really did like the first 3 chapters.

About Jennie

I am a Bibliophile. A lover of books. To me picking up a book is like getting a pass to go anywhere you like. The past, the future, the realm of the unknown. I know it sounds corny and oh so Reading Rainbow-ish but...deal. It's true. Even a fiction book can increase your knowledge and understanding of the world around you. I married. Happily married. I love my husband. I love my family and my friends. They support in (most) all I do. That's the basics - anything else you want to know feel free to ask... View all posts by Jennie

One response to “Skinny Bitch – Bitches

Leave a Reply

