My Head People

So I was listening to some Merry audio books (Merry Gentry series by Laurell K Hamilton) on my iPod today (bestest invention ever next to my laptop) and it got me thinking. My V and I had this conversation a couple of weeks ago and I thought it would be a fun thing to get your opinions on. When I read a book my mind builds pictures and voices based on the authors description – the better the description the stronger the picture and voice. Sometimes when I listen to an audio book the voice just doesn’t fit – my brain rejects and I end up not being able to listen to the book anymore. Sometimes the voice is OK and I can listen to it but it will occasionally war in my head. Other times the voice is so perfect my brain grabs a hold of it and I can no longer even remember what voice I heard before. The wonderfully talented Laurel Merlington voices Merry Gentry in the audio books. She is now my Merry voice. When I first heard her I thought – No way this is going to work – but after listening to all of Kiss of Shadows she became Merry in my head. Do you have voice or stage actors that have replaced your “head people”? Daniel Radcliffe is now my Harry Potter but the actors that play Sirius and Lupin are no where near good enough to play in my head! What about the people who will be in the new Anita series? Will they be good enough?┬áV will not watch the “True Blood” series because she doesn’t want the actors to interfere with the characters in her head. Is there something that you just can’t watch or listen to because your “head people” protest to loudly?

About Jennie

I am a Bibliophile. A lover of books. To me picking up a book is like getting a pass to go anywhere you like. The past, the future, the realm of the unknown. I know it sounds corny and oh so Reading Rainbow-ish but...deal. It's true. Even a fiction book can increase your knowledge and understanding of the world around you. I married. Happily married. I love my husband. I love my family and my friends. They support in (most) all I do. That's the basics - anything else you want to know feel free to ask... View all posts by Jennie

One response to “My Head People

Leave a Reply

