5 Months Worth of Reviews! Month 1 – January

I am a bad monkey =(
I may have been a little lackadaisical on the blog front. I always start out with the best intentions. But you know what they say, “Hell isn’t merely paved with good intentions, it is walled and roofed with them.”  -Aldous Huxley.

So in a futile effort to make amends (is anyone buying this?) here is the beginning of  last 5 months of reviews.

January!!!

Dec 29 – Jan 1 – Richelle Mead – Shadow Kiss (series)

Rose is still struggling with Mason’s death – Lissa is still learning to use Spirit – Rose and Dimitri up their relationship a notch – and some serious shit hits the fan – We are talking BAD stuff. Had to remind myself that we don’t throw books when I finished this one AND Blood Promise doesn’t come out till August!!

Stars – 4 out of 5 – Only because the ending pissed me off

Jan 5 – 11 – Laurell K Hamilton – Swallowing Darkness (series)

Ok I LOVE LOVE LOVE LKH – She did it again! Merry is f-in great! The plot is fantastic and the magic in this book is amazing! Merry is pregnant with twins – wakes up in the hospital to find that her Uncle the Seelie King of Light and Illusion has raped her – Lots of twists and important new developments. Not a whole lot I can say without spoiling things. You will see some new boys entering a more permanent position in Merry’s life and you will see a much hasher side of Merry herself as she learns that she can’t blindly rely on her men to protect her and her heirs. This one has a HUGE ending but fear not – LKH has assured us that even though it may look like it this is not the end of Merry’s series. Divine Misdemeanors is slated to release October this year.

5 out of 5 – another winner!

Jan 22 – 25 – Sherrilyn Kenyon – One Silent Night (series)

The 23rd book in the Dark Hunter series does not disappoint. This book is mostly about Stryker – the bad-ass Spathi daimon. This was definitely a step away from the norm but a very good one. Delving further into the character of Stryker we find out he has some very un-Daimon-like qualities. This book also sheds some light into the fight of the Oneroi.

5 out of 5 – The depth of info given ranks it up there with Acheron.

Jan 26 – Feb 1 – Dead after Dark – Sherrilyn Kenyon, J R Ward, Susan Squires, Dianna Love (anthology)

Sherrilyn Kenyon – Shadow of the Moon (series)

Fury – the women hating mongrel is in for the surprise of his life. The only women he ever loved, the woman who turned her back on him as soon as she found out his nature, Angelia. She is definitely not the hero in this story – kinda makes you want to through the C word at her. (I know, right!) Fury makes up for her bitchyness though – all in all a good read.

3 out of 5 – Because I thought Angelia had it WAY to easy!

J R Ward – The Story of Son (series)

This was probably the best short story in the book – and I bought it for the SK story. It’s almost a Beauty and the Beast tale. Beauty being a sexually frustrated, over worked lawyer. Beast being a, well now that would be telling wouldn’t it. This is really a read it for yourself story – Can’t really say anything because the action starts pretty much from the start. Let’s just say HOT HOT HOT!

5 out of 5 – READ IT!!!

Susan Squires – Beyond the Night (series)

OK – it’s medieval times. You just bought a pimp old house. Your intent is to win the hand of your true love – you used to be a stable boy on her Father’s estate. You move into the pimp house when this super hot ghost starts molesting you!! What do you do? Read and find out! – I’m not normally into ghost stories but this was good!

4 out of 5

Dianna Love – Midnight Kiss Goodbye (series)

Honestly I don’t remember this one – I think there was a witch in it.

2 out of 5  – Really – if it was good you’d think I would remember a little more than that. Or my memory is bad… Nah!

About Jennie

I am a Bibliophile. A lover of books. To me picking up a book is like getting a pass to go anywhere you like. The past, the future, the realm of the unknown. I know it sounds corny and oh so Reading Rainbow-ish but...deal. It's true. Even a fiction book can increase your knowledge and understanding of the world around you. I married. Happily married. I love my husband. I love my family and my friends. They support in (most) all I do. That's the basics - anything else you want to know feel free to ask... View all posts by Jennie

Leave a Reply

