Losing Touch

I posted this on my MySpace page in June of 07. I believe it still holds true and warrents a repost:

I am amazed at the many ways we have to contact people and still we just “lose touch”. When you move away you give out your new address and phone number and “Call me” “Write me” “I’ll miss you”. Sometimes, for a little while, you stay in touch. “Hey how are you – what’s new”. Slowly but surely the conversations start “I know it’s been forever”. Then one day someone says “Get a myspace page, I want you on there”. So you do it if only just to shut them up and for months you ignore the existence of
this rather frustrating site. Months go by and someone else says Hey! You have a myspace don’t you? So you confess to lowering yourself into the entrapments of the internet and give it up. Fine I will check the damn account and I’ll look at your stinking page! All of a sudden there are faces from your past staring at your through tiny pixels on a POS work computer. OMG I haven’t seen you in forever!, you say this to the ones you know might give a damn. Then there are others – others that you know were more than likely never your friends to begin with. The ones that were nice to you out of pity or some other inexplicable emotion unknown to even them. To those people you say…nothing. You want to say something but you don’t know what. I cared about you. I thought you were my friend. I thought you gave a damn. Who are you? What happened to you? I missed you. But you say none of that. That is weak, and as you know from past experience weak means easy target. Weak means pathetic groveling follower. You aren’t like that anymore. You are strong, passionate, likable. You have a new life, one without them, one that they had no help in creating. A life that no longer includes them. A life without illusions of what you thought was good. There were happy times with them but as you look back you wonder if they were real, or as good as you made them out to be. Probably not. Go ahead and mourn for what could have been but
realize that it wasn’t and it won’t be. You made that world better in your mind than it EVER was. You don’t need that now. You may miss those people but they don’t even think about you. Move on! Let it go! Reach out to new people. Not back to old ones. Love the ones you know are right, pray for the ones who aren’t. You have real friends now. People, that when you look at them you know they are with you because they care about you as a person. It’s not a gesture of pity meant to make themselves feel better for past mistakes. They are your real friends, so close you call them family. I’m guessing there are certain people reading this who know the category they fit in, if not, ask me. I’m not afraid anymore. I will tell you – anything

About Jennie

I am a Bibliophile. A lover of books. To me picking up a book is like getting a pass to go anywhere you like. The past, the future, the realm of the unknown. I know it sounds corny and oh so Reading Rainbow-ish but...deal. It's true. Even a fiction book can increase your knowledge and understanding of the world around you. I married. Happily married. I love my husband. I love my family and my friends. They support in (most) all I do. That's the basics - anything else you want to know feel free to ask... View all posts by Jennie

Leave a Reply

